Gearing up for Bluebonnet Season 2014… Spotting & Searching for Texas Hill Country Bluebonnet Roads to create Wildflower Prints

BBonnet_Hwy_2916_Vert_5599

Near Mason Tx

CLICK HERE to see Hill Country Images(tm)  Bluebonnet updates

 

Well, its mid- March and the 2014 Bluebonnet Season is nearly here!

I know its been really dry here in the Hill Country (I’m a native of Fredericksburg – Gillespie County), and I’m hoping for more rain!   We’ve had a little rain here in the  Fredericksburg area – hoping for more – but thankful for what we’ve received!

Our famous little Bluebonnet plants are hardy, and with just a small amount of moisture, they will hopefully start popping up – do I dare pray for oceans of blue? Yes indeed!

On a side note – the peach trees are just starting to bloom!  Hopefully we’ll see the orchards in full bloom soon!

peachbloomsFredericksburg Tx Peach Orchard in bloom

Here in my ‘photo cave’ late at night – or should I say early morning – after working on my portrait business, I enjoy going through some of my Hill Country files, images taken from driving many, many miles of driving and exploring – over  the years – all over the Tx Hill Country looking for scenic spots, so I can create Gallery Prints!

I’m getting organized… planning… thinking about the many County Roads and locations that I’ve found great bluebonnets in previous years.   I’ve got my list ready and as soon as Bluebonnets start arriving, I plan on exploring through the countryside whenever I can – scouting and searching for blue!   Then I’ll return at sunrise or sunset to photograph an area, hoping that all the elements are ‘just right’.

Often, my daughter will go with me on my searches… I always enjoy that!

I always mention to my portrait clients who would like their family portraits to be taken in bluebonnets…. Mother Nature rules, and I never know for sure where the ‘hot spots’ will be for wildflowers until they are blooming!

If one area is great one year, it doesn’t mean it’ll be great the next year … you just never know.

IMG_5643-art
Art Tx, near MasonWildflower_Mix_FencelineTXWildflower Mix Fenceline – near Marble Falls

Here’s a short list of general areas that I’ve visited often &  plan to visit this late March – April… and  hopefully I’ll be able to get some great photos to add to my inventory!

Fredericksburg area (well duh – I’m a native! haha)
Mason,  Doss,  Llano,  Castell,  Johnson City,  Marble Falls,  Burnet, Inks Lake,  San Saba, and many, many dirt roads and bluebonnet backroads in-between!
No wonder my truck is never sparkling clean  – we’re just country folks out here!
Feel free to visit my main website at www.kathyweigand.com  click on the Hill Country Images Page  (Prints / Oil Paintings / Stock Photos).
I’ll try to post bluebonnet sightings on my facebook page too!  Please check it out & click like!

© Kathy Weigand dba Hill Country Images

Leave a Reply

